18. Aco

Category
DAA 2015 WC
About This Project

Art and Culture Outreach,  ACO in brief (actually the two Chinese characters mean the ‘birds of art’), has started to contribute our efforts to the development of art and culture since 2003 when started to help the Dawei Charitable Foundation turn some (14 then and 20 now) residential units of Foo Tak Building (FTB) into art/cultural spaces (A/C spaces) letting artist/cultural entities in need have space to work at a lease that is very affordable for them.

2005 – 2010, ACO turned a unit on 14/F FTB into “Artist-in-Residency”. It allowed overseas art and cultural practitioners accommodated in the unit at the lowest possible daily or monthly rent, in a hope that more of their time and budget could be reserved for interacting with the local art and culture circle. We received 30 applications on average per year.

Subsequently, ACO officially came into picture in 2008 with an independent bookstore ACO_Books instituted of FTB.  Other than selling serious English publications on art and contemporary culture, ACO has started to take up part of the building management work for the A/C spaces and to let the bookstore be used for other cultural activities by all kinds of art and cultural entities within and without FTB other than its being a bookstore.

ACO website: http://www.aco.hk/

The Choreography

6:00pm

8/11 Meet the artists

The People

All artists

18. 富德樓藝鵠

Category
四圍跳2015灣仔
About This Project

website creator

艺鵠從2003年開始為達微慈善基金把富德樓其中一些單位(由當年14個單位增至現在20個單位)轉為藝文空間,讓沒有空間和金錢的藝文個體以最低廉的租金進駐富德樓,從事創作和藝文有關的事情。

2005至2010年艺鵠於14樓其中一個單位實行海外藝術家駐場計劃(artist-in-residency),讓世界各地的藝術文化工作者以極低廉日租或月租在單位內留宿,鼓勵他們留港更長時間以利與本地文化藝術圈交流互動,每年平均接待30位個人或團體申請。

至2008年,艺鵠以獨立書店之姿正式成立。除了售賣嚴肅及與藝術和當代文化相關的英文書籍外,艺鵠也讓富德樓內外的藝文個體利用書店空間來作各種文藝攪作。而艺鵠也越漸加強其管理富德樓藝文空間的角色。

艺鵠網址︰http://www.aco.hk/

創作作品

6:00pm

8/11 與藝術家對話

創作人物

所有藝術家